Activision is a 5 year old child.

I’ve just been notified a video I uploaded on my previous account has been take down due to a copyright claim.

THIS IS TOTAL NONSENSE AND IS A COMPLETE LIE.

The video in question contains footage of a game called Sniper: Ghost Warrior. It is a guide for completing one of the levels in this game. What the hell does this have to do with Activision or bogus and misleading claims of copyright violation?

Seriously, watch videos before you go using your power to bully individuals on YouTube who will listen to you because they are scared of a law suit.

You are now probably wondering why my video was even considered to be “in violation”. The first part of the title contains the name ‘Call of Duty: Black Ops Multiplayer Teaser’. In an annotation on the video tells people they can find a link to an officially and legitiamtely released multiplayer trailer several months ago.

Does the age of the video not give you a hint that it is not involved in the recent swarm of recently leaked internal beta videos?

This really makes my blood boil. It shows neither YouTube or Activision give a shit about people, as long as their bottom line is protected who cares about the consumers who purchase their products?

amirite Activision/YouTube?

I immediately filed a counter claim and hopefully reason will prevail. I will keep you guys up to date on what happens. Obviously I don’t have the money to go to court to defend this claim but I don’t think it will get that far because I haven’t done anything wrong.

I just happened to be a victim of bots which were programmed to search youtube for ‘Call of Duty: Black Ops’ and auto file DMCA claims which YouTube assumes (because the internet is not a democracy) that users are guilty until proven otherwise.

Update – Unless Activision answers my counter-claim I will get my video back within 10 to 14 business days from the 17th.

3 responses to “Activision is a 5 year old child.

  1. Pingback: The Little Guy Finally Wins « My Gamers™

  2. Well I can understand that. Lost a 3 years old account the same way.
    When I see people uploading thousands of videos similar to mine and not having any trouble, this sure doesn’t feel right.

    • Yeah there are tons of actually infringing videos on there but that don’t seem to do anything unless it gets popular enough for the copyright owner to notice.

Leave a comment